Book Review: The Total Package

51lvEsENceL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Photo courtesy of Amazon.com

The Total Package by Stephanie Evanovich, Published March 15th 2016 by William Morrow

This is Stephanie Evanovich’s third book. She wrote “Big Girl Panties” and “The Sweet Spot”, which are both similar to her third novel. Evanovich writes what I would call “sporty fiction” with a romantic twist. Each of her books tells the story of an unbelievably good looking athletic guy, who falls in love with a woman who is usually described as unique and beautiful in her own way. I loved “The Sweet Spot” so much that I have continued to read her novels, but I do have to say that i don’t think “The Total Package” quite measured up to her previous work.

Synopsis:

Star quarterback and “hunk” Tyson Palmer was on the wrong path after his initial taste of fame. When the owner of the Austin Maverick’s gives Tyson an unbelievable second chance and refuses to let Tyson ruin his life, he turns his life around. Dani is a sports commentator trying to climb the ladder of a male dominated profession when she is thrown into a situation that has her running into Tyson constantly. Of course it would be no big deal…if they didn’t share a steamy past! What’s even worse, Tyson doesn’t even recognize the woman whom he shared a sizzling night with five years ago and she’s holding a secret that could change both of their lives forever.

My Thoughts:

This novel was very engaging and playful. There were many times when I chuckled out loud, but it was also somewhat predictable. Maybe it’s because I have read her other novels, but it felt like I knew what the outcome would be halfway through the book. I wasn’t surprised and that forced me to become slowly less interested as I read. I guess I was expecting a story that differed completely from her previous novels, but that would be ridiculous because Evanovich is so well at creating lighthearted love stories! And that’s exactly what this is! I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a romantic “guilty pleasure” read.

My Rating: 3/5

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

