How to Find Your Next “to be read” Book

2016-05-16 12.31.18 1.jpg
Picture taken @ The Emporia Public Library, Emporia, KS

I’m going to be completely honest with you, when it comes time for me to choose the next book to read- THE STRUGGLE IS REAL. There are so many novels that catch my eye, not to mention the HUGE list of “TBR” (to be read) novels I keep. Over the years I have discovered a few different methods that have helped me with deciding which novel to read next. So if you are getting close to the end of your current book and you have no idea what to read next, keep reading for some helpful tips!

1. Fantasticfiction.com. I LOVE THIS SITE! It has been a MUST for me when I’m helping our library patrons locate books in a series, books by a particular author, or popular books in a certain year. Fantastic Fiction gives you a full bibliography for any author you can think of. It also lists popular novels by year, so you can see what people were reading in 1990. My favorite thing about this site is that it gives a full list of new releases for the current month. So, you can read a synopsis and add it to your TBR list if it sounds good!

2.  Goodreads.com. Okay, I could not make a list of book resources without including Goodreads. If you’re not familiar with it, it is a site that allows you to keep track of all the books you have read or plan to read. The site also gives you book recommendations based on books you have placed on one of your “shelves”. I, personally, have had pretty good luck with the recommendations that Goodreads has suggested! You can join groups and partake in book discussions as well. What I like best about this site is that you can add friends and recommend books to each other.

3. Book Quizzes. There are countless book quizzes online that will ask you questions about the type of books you like and then recommend books that are similar. Here are a few that I have tried in the past:

http://justtherightbook.com/quiz

http://www.openingthebook.com/whichbook/

4. Library Browsing. Even if you don’t check out books at a library, there is no better place to browse classic or new novels by genre or age group. Even better, ask your librarians or library assistants for help! Everyone I work with has different taste in genre, so it’s really fun to see what type of books they will recommend me.

5. And finally, the old fashioned way…ask your friends for recommendations! I have found some of the best books because friends have recommended them to me. I recently had a friend who recommended an entire list of children’s fiction to me, which I loved! Who knows you better than the people who are constantly around you?

I hope this list has helped you in some way! I’m always looking for new and exciting ways to add to my TBR list. What methods do you use when looking for new books to read? Comment below and let me know!

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

1 thought on “How to Find Your Next “to be read” Book”

Leave a Reply

