Book Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle

 

61r-1vfwkPL._SX371_BO1,204,203,200_

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman, Published October 23rd 2014 by Bloomsbury Publishing Plc.

Neil Gaiman is a highly respected author who has written books for almost every genre. I have read only one other book by him, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and it was fantastic! I really look forward to reading more books written by Gaiman. This book was located in our young adult section at the library, but I would actually consider this to be a graphic novel. Chris Riddell illustrated the pictures in the book and his artistry is AMAZING.

2016-05-11 11.59.06 1.jpg

Synopsis:

The day before her wedding, a queen sets out on a quest to rescue a princess and her kingdom from a sleeping curse. Along with the help of three dwarfs she must make her way to the center of the kingdom, while fighting her own sleepiness, to find the cause of the curse. This sleeping beauty meets snow white story has a dark twist that you won’t expect!

My Thoughts:

This novel was a very fun and quick read. I never know what to expect with fantasy-like novels, because i don’t read them as often. It is 67 pages, but some of the pages are only illustrations, and the writing is very simple. It almost read like a children’s book at times. I think it was a very enjoyable palate cleanser that brought me back to my childhood a little bit. I love a good fairy tale (especially one with a dark side) and  It was everything I expected it to be- considering it was written by one of the greats of our generation! I would recommend this to any fantasy lovers who just want a quick read or any ART lovers who want to check out some seriously ridiculous (in a good way)  illustrations!

My Rating: 3/5

Do you have a favorite Neil Gaiman book I should read? Post in the comments below!

signature

 

 

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle”

  1. More books should have illustrations, but unfortunately that’s more of a kids book thing. Wish it was a bit more mainstream in adult novels.

    Like

  2. Pingback: October Wrap-Up! |

Leave a Reply

