DIY “Florabunda Biblio” Pencil Holder

2016-05-21 02.46.45 1.jpg

I really wanted to get this DIY up yesterday, but I’ve been busy helping one of my best friends out with her dance studio’s recital. Supernova Dance Authority. She is fantastic and does an amazing job choreographing and keeping all the kids under control! I don’t know how she does it. But after being around so many hyper-active children, I needed a way to wind down! Introducing my “Florabunda Biblio Pencil Holder!” You’re probably thinking..”WTF Danica, it’s a pencil holder..just call it a freaking pencil holder.” Well, I call it that because I was inspired by two craft books I found in our library!

2016-05-21 01.13.34 1.jpg

BiblioCraft: A Modern Crafter’s Guide to Using Library Resources to Jumpstart Creative Projects by Jessica Pigza, photographs by Johnny Miller.

In this book Pigza uses her experience as a librarian to “hunt and gather” resources utilizing the library in order to create different projects. The projects in this book were so creative and beautiful, I wish I could have made them all, but a lot of them call for sewing (which i’m not very good at) or items that I just didn’t have available to me right away. The project I drew inspiration from was the “Antiquarian Animal Votive Holders” which were designed by Grace Bonney. In this project she uses book pages printed with animals to cover votive candle holders. They are gorgeous and unique- i’m definitely going to try this project out soon!

2016-05-21 01.02.56 1.jpg

Florabunda Style: Super Simple Art Doodles to Color, Craft, and Draw by Suzanne McNeill.

This book immediately caught my eye when it came into our library. There are step by step instructions on how to create doodles of flowers, vines, letters, and little animals. The best thing about the art in this book is that it looks kind of intricate, but she makes the work super simple! I used some floral designs and lettering from this book for my pencil holder by drawing the images directly on the book pages!

See, I took ideas from two different books and merged them to create a super simple DIY project that makes a great addition to your desk! Let’s get started!

2016-05-21 01.07.39 1.jpg

What I Used:

Colored pencils

Mod Podge

Book pages from an old book that was withdrawn from the library collection

A small cylindrical vase that I purchased at Dollar Tree

2016-05-21 01.15.31 1.jpg

Step 1: Choose your designs then draw and color them on the book pages. I used multiple pages because I knew that I planned on tearing around the edges of the drawing for a more “disheveled” look.

Step 2: Using the Mod Podge, glue a base layer of book pages to the vase. You can do this by using full pages, like I did, or you can tear the pages into pieces and glue them individually.

Step 3: Glue your drawings on top of the base layer of book pages in the design of your choice, then use the Mod Page to coat the pages so the pages don’t rip. Allow to dry.

2016-05-21 01.47.34 1.jpg

 

Voila’! A simple THREE step pencil holder! I hope you enjoyed this quick DIY.

Please let me know if you want to continue to see more simple book related crafts in the comments!

signature

 

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

