Utilizing Your Library: Why I Choose to Check Out!

Processed with VSCO with c3 preset

Picture taken @ The Emporia Public Library, Emporia, KS
This is my personal opinion of why checking out books from your local library may be a better option than buying all of your books on Amazon.

My bookshelf at home is filled with mostly classic novels, authors who are well known, and the occasional book of short stories by HP Lovecraft. I’ve said a few times in my blog that right now I prefer contemporary works, so why is my collection made up of books like War and Peace? I buy books that are timeless because I know that I will most likely re-read them. I am constantly exploring new authors and genres and sometimes I read books that just weren’t that great. That is why I choose to check out books instead of buy them!

The library is a place that fosters growth of all sorts. Not only can you immerse yourself in your favorite fantasy novel, libraries give you the opportunity to learn- no matter what age. One of my favorite things about working in a public library is the Summer Reading Program. It rewards children, young adults, and adults for taking time to explore the world of literature during the summer season!  It is great to watch young children get excited about reading. The Summer Reading Program is where I took the time to discover what genres I was really interested in. I experimented with westerns and inspirational novels and decided that they just weren’t for me. Imagine if I would have bought all those books that I read over the summers? I would have a room full of books that I would never read again, sure I could donate them to the library…but if I’m being completely honest…books can be expensive! I would be out hundreds of dollars.

Not only does the library give me the chance to discover new books, it also gives me the chance to see new movies, listen to new music, read the monthly issue of Cosmopolitan (it’s addicting), and get help with research or technology questions. A lot of people don’t know just how many free services the library has! Not only is checking out books going to save you time and money, it gives you the opportunity to research which type of books you are truly in love with! And yes, I have fallen in love with many library books over the years!

About once a month, I will come into work early and take my time to look around at all the books. I will find a book that has a great cover, one that is written by an author I enjoyed before, one that sounds like the perfect story, and before I know it I will have about nine books in my pile for check out. I will go home and I will look over each book, read the synopsis, and sometimes read reviews online. Then, I usually return about four books the next day that I decide not to read at that time. You can’t get that kind of “book freedom” anywhere! So, next time you can’t decide what you want to read or your having a hard time finding something worth reading- take a trip to your local library! It will be worth it!

What’s your favorite way to get your reading fix? Let me know in the comments!

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

2 thoughts on “Utilizing Your Library: Why I Choose to Check Out!”

Leave a Reply

