Mini Reviews: Children’s Picture Books

 

2016-05-25 10.51.38 1.jpg
Picture taken @ The Emporia Public Library, Emporia, KS
Book cover photos courtesy of Amazon.com

When I say that I’m a “lover of all literature” I’m definitely not lying! When working at the library on the weekends, sometimes I will make my way into the children’s room, pick out 10-15 picture books, and read them in between checking out books for patrons. I love looking at all the beautiful illustrations while reading fun stories! I decided to do mini reviews on 10 contemporary children’s picture books. All of these books were published within the last year. As always, I have also included my personal rating for each book. So, if you have children and you’ve been looking for some good books OR if you just want to read a few lighthearted children’s books yourself…keep reading! I hope these reviews help! 🙂

41EGS-Ae07L._SX230_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Big Bear Little Chair by Lizi Boyd, Published 2015: My Rating 3/5

This is a cute story about big bear, little bear, and the little stories that brought them together. Comprised of opposites, each page compares something big, small, and sometimes tiny. The graphics are fairly simple, which makes this cute story perfect for the very young reader!

 

 

 

51LtEJ+3gKL._SX340_BO1,204,203,200_

The Secret Tree Fort by Brianne Farley, Published 2016: My Rating 5/5

I loved this adorable little story about a little girl who is trying to persuade her sister to play with her by telling her about her secret fort! The more she tells her sister, the more she insists that it’s a secret. Throughout the book the fort becomes more and more extravagant with pirates and candy and monsters! I can just imagine this being a perfect book to read on a rainy day! Full of vibrant colors and fun characters, this was one of my favorites that I reviewed.

 

 

518+s9CosZL._SX409_BO1,204,203,200_

Parachute by Danny Parker, Illustrated by Matt Ottley, Published 2016: My Rating 4/5

This is a sweet book about bravery! Toby wears a parachute with him wherever he goes because it makes him feel safe. But, one day he bravely rescues his cat from a tree by climbing up and letting his cat use the parachute to get down. Suddenly, Toby finds himself stuck in the tree without his parachute. Slowly Toby makes his way down and discovers that he doesn’t need his parachute with him all the time after all! This was such a feel good book about letting go of your fears. Perfect for small readers who are beginning to read on their own.

 

51-j-BR+hiL._SY493_BO1,204,203,200_

The Hueys in: What’s the Opposite?  by Oliver Jeffers, Published 2016: My Rating 4/5

The Hueys (I assume they are brothers) take us on a learning adventure to explain what opposites are! One Huey is teaching the other, which is quite comical sometimes because they end up in some silly situations! A great book that teaches opposites with some very fun and colorful illustrations, I found this book to be very comical.

 

51uU5sNlcoL._SX400_BO1,204,203,200_

Goodnight, Good Dog by Mary Lyn Ray, Illustrated by Rebecca Malone, Published 2015: My Rating 4/5

Ever wonder what your dogs do when you’re sleeping? Goodnight, Good Dog is the story of a dog who just can’t get to sleep. He wonders the sleepy house while reminiscing about the wonderful day he had. He eventually falls asleep so he can dream about a new day! This was such a creative book and it would be perfect for a little dog lover!

 

 

61IEePofvoL._SX487_BO1,204,203,200_

Just One More by Jennifer Hansen Rolli, Published 2014: My Rating 3/5

Just One More is about an adorable girl named Ruby who always wants “just one more” of everything! The story follows her throughout her day as she is constantly asking  “just one more”! It’s a very cute book that is perfect for bedtime because Ruby ends her day by going to bed and requesting that the story be read just one more time! Rolli’s artistry is very colorful and fun!

 

61jXJNyY8IL._SX470_BO1,204,203,200_

I Used to be Afraid by Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Published 2015: My Rating 5/5

I Used to be Afraid is the story of a little girl who has overcome her fear of spiders, the dark, change, being alone, making mistakes, and more. There are cutouts on every page that transform as the page is turned! I feel that this is such an important book for children to read! It shows that some fears are easily broken. I loved it!

 

 

51uVs-LMFEL._SY396_BO1,204,203,200_

There is a Tribe of Kids, by Lane Smith, Published 2016: My Rating 5/5

There Is a Tribe of Kids is both educational and extremely entertaining. Following a child as they explore the jungle and the ocean, readers are introduced to groups of animals, plants, and things! (Ex. formation of rocks, band of gorillas, bed of clams, etc.) The illustrations are brilliant! They are very colorful and they take up the entire space of the page. I would consider this to be a fun read for any age! In fact, I think I’ll read it again right now…

 

51DvjuoOjVL._SY294_BO1,204,203,200_

Rain Fish by Lois Ehlert, Published 2016: My Rating 4/5

Rain Fish is such a great idea! It tells the story of “rain fish” who only come out when it rains and disappear shortly after. The images are so creative! Using debris and discarded items (such as cardboard, leaves, and tin) Ehlert creates colorful fish. This is the type of book that will fuel a child’s imagination! The next time i see a piece of trash in the street during rain, I will definitely think of rain fish!

 

61ZtuTPTetL._SX421_BO1,204,203,200_

The Wonderful Habits of Rabbits by Douglas Florian, Illustrated by Sonia Sanchez, Published 2016: My Rating 4/5

The Wonderful Habits of Rabbits is indeed WONDERFUL! The story takes us through an ordinary day with a group of rabbits playing, running, and discovering new things! It is just such a fun story with some really great illustrations of all different types of rabbits. This would be a cute story to read around Easter or during the spring time.

I hope you enjoyed these little reviews of some little stories! Do you have a favorite children’s picture book? Leave it in the comments!

signature

 

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

