Book Review: In Real Life

41NZ+T0vkHL

Photo courtesy of Amazon.com

In Real Life by Jessica Love, Published by St. Martin’s Griffin, 2016

I just want to start by saying that I picked up this book because I saw it under a list titled “For Fans of Eleanor and Park”. So yeah, obviously I had to read it. I also want to say that I am beginning to loathe reviews that compare books to other popular books so fiercely. It’s not that I disliked this book, it was just nothing like Eleanor and Park. I think that expecting a story or writing style to be similar to a book you love definitely effects how you read the book. Anyway, that’s a different rant for a different time.

Synopsis:

“In Real Life” is the story of two best friends who talk every day and know everything about each other, the only problem is that they have never met. Hannah, straight A student and classic “goody two shoes”, is starting to realize that she may have feelings for her best friend Nick. And she knows that he feels the same way about her because of a conversation that took place after Nick “drunk dialed” her. It’s Spring Break of her senior year in high school and she’s determined to break free of her “good girl” status. What better way than to drive the four hours to Las Vegas to surprise Nick and meet him for the first time? Surprise she wanted…surprise she got! Now, Hannah has to spend a night in Las Vegas in an awkward situation with the guy she’s in love with.

My Thoughts:

This story is very cute and a perfect read for summer. I think most young adults will appreciate all of the pop culture references that Love uses. Sometimes I felt that the dialogue was a little forced or uncomfortable, but it was also very witty. The characters were likable, but they weren’t very different from each other. For instance, three guys in this band, including Nick, are basically wearing the exact same thing all night. Also, there wasn’t very much character development for the minor characters. They would mention a minor character and I found myself thinking “who is that again?”

Overall, it was a fun quick read that I enjoyed. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it to those who say they are fans of “Eleanor and Park”, but I would probably recommend it to anyone who wants a romantic summer read that they can get through in a day or so.

Rating: 3/5

Is there a book you would like to see reviewed? Let me know in the comments!

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

