Author Spotlight: Mary Kubica

Mary-Kubica-9-websitesmall

Today I wanted to highlight an author who I have been obsessed with for a few months! Everyone knows I love a good mystery/thriller, and Mary Kubica definitely knows how to keep you guessing! In the last few months I have read Pretty Baby and The Good Girl, which are both phenomenal! I did a review for The Good Girl on Goodreads, which I will link below. YESTERDAY her newest novel Don’t You Cry finally came to our library and I CAN NOT WAIT TO READ IT! If it is anything like her previous novels, I know it will be fantastic.

Untitled

Photo courtesy of Amazon.com

Mary holds a bachelor’s degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, in History and American Literature (which basically makes us soul sisters because I have a history degree too). She lives outside of Chicago (Midwestern girl, just like me!) with her husband and two children, and according to her website “she enjoys photography, gardening, and caring for the animals at a local shelter.” I had the opportunity to ask Mary a question about her writing process a few months ago during a Goodreads Q&A and her answer to my question has really influenced my own writing!

Danica White asked Mary Kubica: Hello Mary! I am a huge fan. I loved “The Good Girl” and “Pretty Baby” and I am counting down the days until “Don’t You Cry”! I was wondering do you have any interesting writing quirks or routines while working on a novel?
Mary Kubica:  Thank you for reading The Good Girl and Pretty Baby. I’m so happy you enjoyed them! I’m an early bird, so I love getting up around 5am to write, when the house is quiet and my husband and children are still asleep. I don’t have much in the way of routines, as I tend to write when I feel moved to write and don’t force myself to meet a certain word count each day, or to write for a set amount of time. I find that I’m easily distracted, so write when the rest of the family is either asleep or at work/school – and though I wish I was, I’m not one of those authors who can work at the local coffee shop. I tend to hide away at home to write, usually at my kitchen table with a cat or 2 (or 4) keeping me company. I don’t outline my novels in advance, but start with a problem and then dive right in – creating the characters, and figuring out logical steps to solve the problem, while throwing in some twists and turns along the way. Thanks so much for the great question. Hope you enjoy Don’t You Cry!

Mary’s first novel The Good Girl (2014) received a Strand Critics Nomination for Best First Novel AND was a nominee in the Goodreads Choice Awards in Debut Goodreads Author AND in Mystery & Thriller! She is currently working on her fourth novel! As soon as I finish reading her third novel, Don’t You Cry, I will absolutely review it and hey…maybe even a giveaway?! 😉

You can learn more about Mary Kubica and her amazing novels at: http://www.marykubica.com/

“The Good Girl” Review on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1593522598

Do you have a favorite author that NEEDS an author spotlight? Let me know in the comments below!

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

1 thought on “Author Spotlight: Mary Kubica”

  1. Oh man, now I feel like I need to read these! Great review, Danica! If you’re looking for another author, I love Connie Willis. She’s like the only adult author I read, but SO GOOD.

    Like

Leave a Reply

