Book Review: Wink Poppy Midnight

51BMtJdkf0L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke, Published March 22nd 2016 by Dial Books

“We were like the three Fates, weaving the story together, threads of gold, red, and midnight blue. There would be wolves and tricks and lies and cunning and vengeance in our story. I would make sure of it.” -Wink Poppy Midnight, April Genevieve Tucholke

Like most of the books I pick up, Wink Poppy Midnight has a beautiful cover that did a wonderful job at “luring” me in. I mean, c’mon. How can you not be at least a little interested to find out what it’s about?! The second reason I decided to read this book was the fact that I was told that it was pretty suspenseful. So boom. There you have it. I was sold. Tucholke’s writing is beautiful, but it took me awhile to decide how I really felt about the novel as a whole.

Synopsis:

Wink Poppy Midnight is the story of three teenagers who are transformed after a summer of stories, hoaxes, and love triangles. Wink is an odd redheaded girl with a love for storytelling, Poppy is a beautiful blonde bully and queen of her high school, and Midnight is a sweet boy with a heart of gold who finds himself caught between them. A hero, a villain, and a liar. But who is who?

My Thoughts:

All three characters help to narrate the story, and Tucholke does a fantastic job at distinguishing the characters by making each voice unique. Tucholke’s writing is somewhat eerie and fantastical. If this book were adapted into a movie, Tim Burton (think Big Fish, not Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) would direct it! The imagery is so dream-like; it almost reads like one long poem. She writes in a way that gives you just enough information to enhance your train of thought, but also allows you to use your imagination to create a unique world on your own. This is the first book that I have read by April Genevieve Tucholke, but I am excited to read more. I am just in love with her writing style.

I do think this is a great book, but for some reason I couldn’t give it a 5/5 rating. The ending feels unfinished or rushed. So much so, that my thoughts about the book have basically consumed me for two days. If you have any interest in this book, I urge you to read it and discuss it with me so I can figure out why I’m so uncertain about it!

Rating: 4/5

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

