Book Review: I’m Thinking of Ending Things

Reid

I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid, Published by Gallery/Scout Press. June 2016. 

I grabbed this book on a whim. It was short and I needed a quick read. I could not put it down! This deeply suspenseful thriller unfolds like a bad dream; you desperately want to wake up yet you also want to keep reading so that you can see how each piece of the puzzle fits together!

Iain Reid is a Canadian author whose first memoir, “One Bird’s Choice: A Year in the Life of an Over-educated, Underemployed Twenty-something Who Moves Back Home,” was published in 2010 and was followed by “The Truth About Luck: What I Learned on my Road Trip with Grandma in 2013.” “I’m Thinking of Ending Things” is his debut novel — and what a debut it is!

Synopsis:

 The narrator, who is nameless, has been thinking about ending things with her boyfriend of nearly six weeks but she has agreed to meet his parents anyhow. Jake, her boyfriend, is a smart man who is fond of philosophizing and has a tendency to speak in the abstract, which the narrator admits is a reason why she was attracted to him.As they arrive at Jake’s secluded family farm, their harmless road trip turns bizarre. The meeting with his family is odd and frightening, a small stop at a local Dairy Queen is worrisome, but when Jake decides to take a detour to an empty high school in the middle of nowhere it takes the couple to new heights of the terrifying and the inexplicable.

My Thoughts:

“I’m Thinking of Ending Things” is an intense psychological thriller that explores the depths of identity and relationships within the human psyche. Although it is a short novel (224 pages), I was completely enthralled the entire time and the story continued to stick with me long after I had finished the book. Reid’s writing is very distinctive and unique. I love a good thriller novel, but I wasn’t expecting this “short read” to be so haunting. I would recommend this to readers who love suspense and don’t mind reading a book in one sitting because you won’t want to put it down!

My Rating: 4/5

Do you have a favorite thriller that I NEED to read?! Let me know in the comments!

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

