My Favorite Literary Quotes!

We all have that moment while we’re reading…the moment when we read that one word, sentence, or paragraph and we just fall in love! Or we think “yes! (author) totally gets me!” When I have those moments I usually write down the quote and a quick sentence about why I like it. I have post-it notes and little scraps of paper with random quotes crumpled at the bottom of my bag and taped to my desk (I know, totally unorganized). I wanted to share a few of my favorite quotes that I found in one of my notebooks today!

I hope you enjoy these quotes and be sure to let me know your favorite literary quote in the comments!

Processed with VSCO with c3 preset

 

“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.” 
― J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

“There is no sunrise so beautiful that it is worth waking me up to see it.” 
― Mindy KalingIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

“He was contemplation and enthusiasm. Ambition and strong coffee. I could have looked at him forever.” ― E. LockhartWe Were Liars

“On first impressions, John seemed more cynical and brash than the others, Ringo the most endearing, Paul was cute, and George, with velvet-brown eyes and dark chestnut hair, was the best-looking man I’d ever seen. We were both shy and spoke hardly a word to each other, but being close to him was electrifying.” 
― Pattie BoydWonderful Tonight

“I need you, the reader, to imagine us, for we don’t really exist if you don’t.” ― Vladimir NabokovLolita

“let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences” 
― Sylvia PlathThe Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

 “Who is the beauty icon that inspires you the most? Is it Sophia Loren? Audrey Hepburn? Halle Berry? Mine is Nosferatu, because that vampire taught me my number-one and number-two favorite beauty tricks of all time: avoid the sun at all costs and always try to appear shrouded in shadows.” ― Mindy KalingWhy Not Me?

 “Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.” 
― Rainbow RowellEleanor & Park

 “Human life is but a series of footnotes to a vast obscure unfinished masterpiece” ― Vladimir NabokovLolita

 “If curiosity would kill him, he would take it.”
― Molly PrentissTuesday Nights in 1980

 “After all this time?”

“Always…” ― J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

 “You don’t have to get a job that makes others feel comfortable about what they perceive as your success. You don’t have to explain what you plan to do with your life. You don’t have to justify your education by demonstrating its financial rewards. You don’t have to maintain an impeccable credit score. Anyone who expects you to do any of those things has no sense of history or economics or science or the arts. You have to pay your electric bill. You have to be kind. You have to give it all you got. You have to find people who love you truly and love them back with the same truth. But that’s all.” 
― Cheryl StrayedBrave Enough

 “There is something freeing in seeing yourself in a new context. People have no preconceived notion of who you are, and there is relief in knowing that you can re-create yourself.” ― Carrie Brownstein, Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl

 “Lock up your libraries if you like; but there is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind.”
― Virginia WoolfA Room of One’s Own

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

