Organizing Your Goodreads!

I cannot express to you how much I love Goodreads! Before Goodreads, my TBR list consisted of sticky-notes crumpled at the bottom of my bag and illegible notes scrawled in my school notebooks. I’ve been a member since June 2013, but I just recently started really utilizing the bookshelves to better organize my read books.

GRBesides my read, currently reading, and to-read shelves, I have nine other bookshelves that help me stay systematized. Fiction, Non-Fiction, Mystery, Young Adult, Favorites, Recommendations, Read in 2015, Read in 2016, and Abandoned.

GR2.png

My favorites shelf is reserved for books that I gave a 4/5 or 5/5 rating. I base my ratings on my initial feeling after I finish the book. Check out my personal rating system for my blog!

I just started organizing books by year in 2015. When you click on a shelf, Goodreads shows you the date you added the book and the date you finished it- which is great! I just found it easier to have all my books that I’ve read for the year on one bookshelf instead of going through my entire read shelf and looking at individual dates.

GR3.png

Abandoned books are books that I began reading, but never finished. It could have been because I just couldn’t get into the book or because I started reading different books and just never went back. I keep these separate from my to-read shelf so I know that I actually began to read them and stopped for whatever reason.

I wish I utilized my recommendations shelf more! This shelf holds books that are recommended to me, but I sometimes forget who recommended what book! It’s ridiculous I know!

My other shelves are pretty self-explanatory. I only have bookshelves for genres that I read the most (ex. mystery, young adult, general fiction).

Goodreads has so many other features that make keeping track of your reading very easy!  If you are a reader who doesn’t have a Goodreads account- you need one!

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

2 thoughts on “Organizing Your Goodreads!”

  1. I love Goodreads too! The to-read shelf is essential! I was like you always writing books down wherever and of course never having what I wrote them down on when I went to the library. Now I just pull up Goodreads on my phone! And I love doing the yearly Reading Challenges to see how many books I can read in the year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

