What I’ve Been Reading Lately: Quick Lit

Quick Lit is a term coined by Anne from Modern Ms. Darcy, a book and lifestyle blog that I follow. It’s basically a section of her blog that is dedicated to “short and sweet” reviews and discussions on the books she has been reading lately! I read a lot of older books that I don’t review on my blog, so I thought it would be fun for me to try something like this every month!  I’ll think of a name for this section of my blog eventually, but in the meantime go check out Modern Ms. Darcy’s blog and keep reading for the books I’ve been reading lately!

1830241.jpgThe Doll in the Garden by Mary Downing Hahn

The Doll in the Garden was recommended to me by one of my best friends to read close to Halloween. I started reading it and realized that I had read it before! This child appropriate ghost story is the perfect palate cleanser for fall! “When Ashley discovers a turn-of-the-century doll it is just the first of several puzzling events that lead her through the hedge and into a twilight past where she meets Louise, an ailing child whose beloved doll has mysteriously disappeared.” (Goodreads)

 

 

 

17900008.jpg

Masquerade by Nyrae Dawn

Masquerade is the third installment of the Games series by Nyrae Dawn. I read the first book, Charade, and thought it was pretty cute. I thought the second book, Facade, was okay. At this point i’m reading this for the sake of finishing the series. It’s super cheesy and not very well written (sorry Dawn fans!). “Bee wants Maddox to join her tattoo business, but letting him into her life means revealing all her most intimate secrets. And as the past begins to intertwine with her present, Bee fears their love may not be as permanent as their ink.” (Goodreads)

 

 

170668

The Witches by Roald Dahl

I remember watching the film adaption of The Witches when I was younger and it seriously scared the bajeebies (just go with it) out of me! I’ve never read the book, so when I was looking up Halloween appropriate books to read in October and came across this one…I knew I needed to start reading it right away! “Grandmamma loves to tell about witches. There’s nothing they hate so much as children. Her grandson listens closely to Grandmamma’s stories – but nothing can prepare him for the day he comes face to face with The Grand High Witch herself!” (Goodreads)

 

 

7805

Pale Fire by Vladimir Nabokov

I don’t think I need to go on another rant about how much I love Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, but unfortunately; I haven’t read Pale Fire! So, i’m going to be working my way slowly through this one this month! “An ingeniously constructed parody of detective fiction and learned commentary, Pale Fire offers a cornucopia of deceptive pleasures, at the center of which is a 999-line poem written by the literary genius John Shade just before his death.” (Goodreads)

 

 

 

As you can see, I’ve been re-visiting my past quite a bit by reading some children’s fiction! I also have some Neil Gaiman and Katherine Paterson on my list to read eventually! What are you reading right now?!

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading Lately: Quick Lit”

Leave a Reply

