Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10

28187230.jpg

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware, Published July 19th 2016 by Gallery/Scout Pres

“Its size, along with the perfection of its paintwork, gave it a curiously toylike quality, and as I stepped onto the narrow steel gangway I had a sudden disorienting image of the Aurora as a ship imprisoned in a bottle – tiny, perfect, isolated, and unreal – and of myself, shrinking down to match it with every step I took towards the boat.”
Ruth Ware, The Woman in Cabin 10

I initially picked up this book because I had been seeing it all over social media and, as you all know, I’m a sucker for mysteries. Upon reading, I found that it read very much like a classic “whodunit” novel. With as many intriguing and zany characters as the game Clue, The Woman in Cabin 10 is fast, fun, and keeps you turning the pages!

The Woman in Cabin 10 is the second novel by author Ruth Ware. Her first book, In a Dark, Dark Wood has received similar praise (and the promise of being “the next Gone Girl”-seriously can we please stop this now!?) I have added In a Dark, Dark Wood to my TBR list because I thoroughly enjoyed Ware’s writing and creativity and I can’t wait to explore her writing further!

Synopsis:

Travel reporter Lo Blacklock is given an amazing assignment, a week-long cruise aboard The Aurora, an exclusive luxury ship sailing from England to Norway. The ten cabins on board will house prestigious reporters, photographers, and socialites. Lo’s expedition is going well, until she hears what sounds like a struggle and a woman being thrown overboard in the cabin next to hers- cabin 10. With no proof and no one to turn to, will Lo be able to solve the mystery and possibly get justice for the woman she heard in cabin 10?

My Thoughts:

The setting made this story even spookier. A small ship sailing on the freezing North Sea, no internet connection, cut off from the rest of the world, a possible murderer on board- very ominous. I felt nervous and anxious for Lo the more I read! Lo’s character has a history of anxiety, so we see her kind of teeter on the edge of madness as she’s trying to solve this mystery.

Each character was unique, so the many characters were easy for me to keep track of. Ware did a phenomenal job of making the main character very likable, but also making you question her credibility as the story unfolds. I was questioning everyone! Halfway through I was convinced Lo was going crazy and making everything up. And then, I started thinking maybe I was the one going crazy! Ruth Ware’s writing is clever, intriguing, and paced to perfection! I thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it for fans of Agatha Christie!

My Rating: 3.5/5

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

1 thought on “Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10”

Leave a Reply

