DIY Paperback Book Pumpkin!

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Every time I see old paperback books that we are withdrawing from our collection, I grab a few just in case I find a really cool DIY project! Well, I love fall and all things pumpkin- so today I am going to show you how to create this ADORABLE pumpkin from an old paperback book!

I know some people think it’s sacrilege to use books for crafts, but I’m here to tell you (as an employee of a public library) that books HAVE to be withdrawn from collections. People just won’t check out or buy books that are damaged. And then they just take up shelf room and collect dust on the when we could be using that space for new material. So, by using old books to craft we are giving them new life! And hey, if you still wanna read those books…then by all means…keep it and read it! Just don’t look down on us book crafters 😉

2016-10-03 11.28.25 1.jpg

What you will need:

An old book that you don’t mind ruining

An Exact-O knife or scissors

Orange Paint

A stick (size and shape depend on how you want your stem to look)

 

 

Okay, you’re going to start by removing the cover of your paperback.

Once removed, trace half of a pumpkin onto the paperback. I printed out a picture of a pumpkin and then cut it in half because I am horrible at free-handing any shape.

2016-10-03 11.29.12 1.jpg

Once your pumpkin is traced, you can begin cutting! I used scissors…and it took a really long time but the curves were easier than with an Exacto-knife.

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

I painted the edges of the pumpkin orange and let it fully dry. Then I glued a stick between the outside pages. I had to add a few dabs of glue between some of the pages to make it “fan out” correctly which was a little time consuming …but worth it!

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Let the pages dry and add a little hemp cord or ribbon and there you have it! Fun fall decor for the book lover!

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

What do you guys think?! Cute, huh? 

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

