Harry Potter Recipes for a Harry Potter Halloween!

halden

If I ever throw a big Halloween party, everything is going to be Harry Potter themed. Games, snacks, décor! I’ve been preparing myself for such an occasion by pinning every HP party pin I come across. This past weekend I decided to attempt a few recipes that I’ve been dying to try and give a little review on them! (I mean c’mon, who’s never tried to re-create Butter Beer before?!) I am absolutely NOT a professional cook. I am actually kind of awful unless I am following directions word for word. But even though I made some changes (for better or for worse), everything turned out pretty good! Looking for some easy Harry Potter themed snacks for that Halloween party you’re throwing? Try these three pleasantly surprising recipes!

halloween_feast_food

I’ve altered the recipes a little, but I will post the original recipe link!

Pumpkin Pasties:

Savory version:
    • 7.5 oz. (1/2 can) of pumpkin puree (not pie filling)
    • 1 Tbsp butter
    • 1/2 clove garlic, minced
    • 1/4 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
    • 1/8 tsp sage
    • 1/4 tsp salt
    • 1/4 tsp onion powder
    • 1/4 tsp black pepper
    • 1 package refrigerated pie dough
    • Flour for dusting
    • 1 egg, slightly beaten for egg wash
 Sweet version:
  • 7.5 oz. (1/2 can) of pumpkin puree (not pie filling)
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 2 Tbsp sugar or granulated sugar substitute
  • 1 package refrigerated pie dough
  • Flour for dusting
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten for egg wash

The first change I made was switching out the butter for coconut oil. Not because I was trying to be healthy…I actually ran out of butter. Not wanting to lose the buttery taste, I added a teaspoon of butter extract. In my mind, this made sense at the time. And hey! They turned out pretty good. Second, I made my own pie dough. It was a cheaper option and I thought it would be fun. So here’s the link I used for the homemade pie dough: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2011/07/easy-pie-dough-recipe.html

Instructions

  1. Thaw pie dough in refrigerator overnight.
  2. Preheat oven to 400F.
  3. Place parchment on (or grease) two half-sheet pans.
  4. Mix pumpkin puree with room temperature butter in a large bowl, and stir in garlic, cheese, and seasonings (or just seasonings and sugar for the sweet version). Set aside.
  5. Dust a flat surface with flour, roll pie crust out to 1/8 inch thick, and cut into 4-inch circles (or larger, if you prefer) with a pastry cutter or edge of a glass.
  6. Spoon out a half teaspoon or less of the pumpkin mixture onto one side of the dough circles, fold over to create half-moons, and crimp the edges closed. Cut three tiny slits into the top of each to vent.
  7. Transfer pasties to baking sheets, and brush each with egg wash.
  8. Bake for about 15-20 minutes until lightly golden.
  9. Transfer to a cooling rack and let cool for 5 minutes before diving in.

My Experience: I LOVED the savory version. I actually had a few for breakfast the next day! If you aren’t a huge fan of pumpkin I feel like you would still like these. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle! The sweet ones tasted mostly like little pumpkin pies. Original Recipe Here.

Rosemary Treacle Tart:

For the tart base:
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • ¾ stick butter
  • pinch of salt
  • 2-3 tbsp cold water
For the filling:
  • ¼ stick  butter
  • zest and juice of half a lemon
  • ⅔ cup + 1tbsp  Lyle’s Golden Syrup (or TREACLE)
  • 1 tsp finely chopped rosemary
  • 1 + ¼ cups fresh breadcrumbs
  • ⅔ cup corn meal
  • 1 egg

The original recipe called for almond meal, which probably would have tasted a little better, but have you priced almond meal before? It’s like $20.00 for a small bag. No thanks. So I substituted with corn meal. Whatever..I can do what I want. Next, I actually made my own treacle. Lyle’s Golden Syrup is SO hard to find. I didn’t have time to order it on amazon…so I found this handy little video for homemade treacle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksIHlV9T17U

Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 375F and grease a shallow 9½ inch pie tin.
  2. To make the base, work the butter into the flour using either your fingers, a food processor or a stand mixer. Once the butter and flour look like sandy crumbs, gradually add just enough ice water to bring the mixture together into a soft dough.
  3. Press the dough evenly into the base of your baking dish, and place in the oven for 30 minutes, or until lightly golden and cooked through.
  4. While the base is cooking, make the filling by placing the butter into a medium saucepan.
  5. Heat the butter over a low heat, until it foams, and begins to turn brown.
  6. Quickly add the lemon juice to the mixture to stop it from burning, and then add the remaining ingredients, except the egg, to the pan.
  7. Stir everything together gently over a low heat until everything is melted and cohesive.
  8. When the base is cooked, remove it from the oven, and set it aside. Stir the egg into the filling mixture, and then pour the filling onto the base, and place back in the oven for a further 20 minutes.
  9. When cooked, the tart should be golden brown and set, with a slight jiggle in the middle. Leave to cool for at least 15 minutes, before slicing and serving from the tin!

My Experience: I used a larger tin, so it was fairly thin and crispy! The treacle was very sweet, but actually tasted pretty mellow once the dish was complete. My boyfriend really enjoyed this one and he doesn’t usually like sweets! I think it would have turned out better if I used the almond meal. Original Recipe Here.

Butter Beer:

Butterbeer:
  • 2 liter cream soda
  • 2 tablespoons Butter Extract
  • 2 teaspoons Rum Extract
  Cream topping:
  • 1 7oz container of marshmallow creme
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1 teaspoon Rum Extract
I had no doubt in my mind that this was going to be AMAZING. It just sounds so good! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out very good!
Instructions:

1. Drop the extracts into the 2 liter bottle, put on cap and slowly rotate until combined.

2. Combine all ingredients for cream topping together and mix by hand or mixer until completely blended and smooth.
3. Pour your butterbeer into a frosty mug and top with cream topping!
My Experience: It was SO GOOD. If you don’t like sweets, you may not like it. It is super sweet…especially the topping. But you can always go sans topping and it will still be just as delicious. Original Recipe Here.
signature
Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

