October Wrap-Up!

october

Happy [almost] Halloween everybody! As you may know, this October I challenged myself to read six horror novels. Well, I forgot to consider that this October was also one of the busiest months I’ve had in a while. I already had an “event” scheduled for every weekend and then had to take a few Fridays off from work too. So, my reading time was minimal. I managed to read three of the six books I wanted to read, but I still think I did pretty well! Since these three books can be considered classic and well known, I’m not going to give you a synopsis. Instead, I’ll just tell you what I liked about them and what I disliked. I’ll also rate them based on my personal rating system and how “creepy” I thought they were! I hope you enjoy!

589836.jpg

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

I knew Coraline wasn’t going to give me nightmares. It’s a children’s book! But I completely underestimated its creepy factor! I believe I ranted about my love for Neil Gaiman in an earlier post reviewing The Sleeper and the Spindle. He’s phenomenal. I loved how creative the entire story was and how eerily he described the smallest details. I was always surprised at what happened next, which added to the scariness. I watched the movie literally the minute I finished the book, which was probably a bad idea because I was a little bored with it. There wasn’t a whole lot I disliked about the book because it was a short read with simple language (once again, suitable for children).

My Rating: 4/5       Creepy Rating: jack-o-lantern21.png

762530.jpg

The Shining by Stephen King

It’s my own fault that I am just now reading this AMAZING book. The thing is, I love Stanley’s Kubrick’s 1980’s film version. I’ve seen it so many times that I can recite some of the lines, so I thought I would be bored with the book. I’m going to let you in on a little secret…DON’T EVER THINK THIS!!!!! If you like a movie, read the book! It will probably make you appreciate the movie even more. But this isn’t the reason why I absolutely loved the book The Shining; I loved it because it was nothing like the movie! Yes, the story was pretty much the same but Kubrick changed SO MUCH. That’s probably why Stephen King has said on numerous occasions that he hates the movie. Stephen King is a master at writing dialogue and the environment he cultivated was shocking (in a good way), but the main reason this book is one of the scariest I’ve read is the gradual unveiling of The Overlook Hotel’s sinister power. My one dislike quickly turned into a like as I finished the book: It’s a slow build, but that build will be worth it in the end and it will give you anxiety and nightmares for days.

My Rating: 5/5         Creepy Rating: jack-o-lantern21.pngjack-o-lantern21.pngjack-o-lantern21.pngjack-o-lantern21.png

2537053

Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier

I was so excited to read this book because it was on every single horror book list I’ve read. Spoiler Alert: it’s not scary. Unsettling? Very. Scary? No. What I loved most about it was how eloquent and crisp DuMaurier’s writing is. This is the first novel I’ve read by Daphne DuMaurier and I am now forever a fan. I know I mentioned that The Shining might give you anxiety…this book is the definition of anxious. You will read half of it and then realize you were holding your breath the entire time. There are so many shady characters and you won’t know who to trust and since I was expecting it to be more “scary”, every corner the main character turned I was expecting her to get killed “Clue” style with a candlestick in the Parlor! I was on edge the entire time. And then…it just ends. There is quite a spectacular event at the finale, but I was surprised when it ended. I needed to know how the issue was resolved and what happened to our main character (whose first name remains a mystery)! But, nevertheless, it was a great book.

My Rating: 4/5         Creepy Rating: jack-o-lantern21.pngjack-o-lantern21.png

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

