Why You Should Give Audio-Books A Try!

tranquility

Some people think it’s considered cheating to listen to a book. I’m not one of those people and here’s why:

I don’t know how many times I’ve shot down the idea of audio-books because “the feeling of a real book in your hand far surpasses listening to it”…how pretentious can I get, right? But when I started blogging, it was clear to me that there were just not enough hours in the day for me to read 5-8 books in a month, work a full time job, and write reviews and blog posts. Audio-books have seriously changed my life. Call me dramatic. I don’t mind.

I’ve never been that person who can read multiple books at once, but since I started listening to books it makes it so much easier to do so. I can listen to some of a book at work while I’m shelf reading, and then actually read a few chapters of another book when I get home! It’s fantastic. It’s a great way to multi-task! When i’m cleaning my house, walking to get coffee, driving across town to get the extremely un-healthy fast food I eat on a daily basis…I’m usually listening to a book.

You should give audio-books a try for three reasons:

1) You will be able to read more books in a shorter amount of time!

2) You won’t have to choose between reading a book or getting your dishes clean!

3) Sometimes the narrators make the book more interesting with their voice acting!

Now that you understand my love for books that are read aloud to me, I want to share with you some of my favorite audio-books that I’ve listened to this year! I also want to share one or two that I disliked. I based my decisions on the narrator’s voice, character acting, and the overall mood that the narrator set. For example, The Shining was a scary book; Campbell Scott made it even more scary by using an ominous tone or by actually shouting at times!

Favorites

  1. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling— Narrated by Jim Dale
  2. The Shining by Stephen King — Narrated by Campbell Scott
  3. Yes Please by Amy Poehler –Narrated by Amy Poehler & Friends
  4. Harmony by Carolyn Parkhurst –Narrated by Abigail Revasch, Jorjeana Marie, Cassandra Campbell
  5. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs–Narrated by Jesse Bernstein

Hollow City and Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs are narrated by Kirby Heyborne. I much preferred Jesse Bernstein.   

Disappointments 

             1. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han –Narrated by Laura Knight Keating

I’m going to be completely honest, I almost stopped listening to this book about five times because the narrator’s voice acting was absolutely awful. I know it’s harsh, but if I keep losing track of who is who because every guy you portray sounds the same….there’s a problem.

          2. The Winter Girl by Matt Marinovich–Narrated by Quincy Dunn-Baker

I don’t know if it was the writing or the narrating, but this one just fell a little short for me. By the time the ending came, I was way past ready to be done with it. It was boring. That’s the best way to put it.    

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

