Thursday Thoughts: Wayfaring

THE.png

I’ve always pictured myself somewhere beautiful, vast mountains or spectacular architecture surrounding me. Instead, I was born in a small town in Kansas and have spent my entire life in this state. I’ve been lucky enough to get to travel around the US quite a bit, but there is nothing I want more than to be able to write from abroad (in this daydream I’m some sort of rad editor who travels around the world and works in the mornings at this cute little coffee shop a few blocks from our hostel).

States I’ve visited: Kansas, Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Arkansas, Missouri, Iowa, Minnesota, Michigan, Illinois, Tennessee, Mississippi, Kentucky, Ohio, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, District of Columbia, Pennsylvania, West Virginia. (Also, don’t judge me because I live next to Colorado and have never actually been to Colorado).

533076_3964458836751_879084082_n.jpg

Memphis, TN 2012

Luckily, my boyfriend of five years, Brandon, feels the same way! We’ve had hundreds of conversations about the places we want to visit and the places we want to live. It’s comforting to find someone who wants basically exactly what you want out of life-not wealth or recognition, just to be happy and continue to learn as much as we can from everything and everyone around us.

Places we want to live: London – Because who wouldn’t want to study literature in the UK?!, Tokyo – Brandon is fascinated by Japanese culture, Vancouver – I always tell people that I’m a Canadian who just happened to be born in the US.

I’ve considered the Peace Corps, teaching English abroad, convincing Brandon to become a shampoo model in Japan, basically anything that will get me out of the country without having to sell everything I own. It’s hard to travel when you don’t have a lot of expendable income, which we absolutely do not. Also, i’m completely realistic about my dream, I know that when I’m able to travel It won’t be the same as being on vacation for the rest of my life, in fact I think I might hate that. I love feeling busy, I want to immerse myself into another culture for as long as I can!

Places where I want to volunteer: Literally anywhere. Seriously. ANYWHERE. 

One thing we have discussed in depth is doing a thru-hike on one of the many popular trails here in North America. Spending three to seven months away from all distractions, walking ten to fifteen miles a day, and getting the chance to see all the beautiful parts of the states that we would have never thought of seeing. The only thing about running away for months at a time is that you won’t be earning money (I might be able to swing that if I save a lot) and it’s so expensive to get started (quality backpacking gear can cost you some serious $$). But, it’s one thing that has been on my bucket-list since I started day hiking for fun!

22fdcb766f70220ea8b2c4c357ee096b.jpg

Trails I want to thru-hike: North Country Trail, Appalachian Trail

It’s my dream to travel. I want to learn new languages, eat interesting foods, and meet new people. It may not be feasible now, but in a few years hopefully you’ll be reading about all of my fun travel adventures on my blog!

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

Leave a Reply

