Thursday Thoughts: Dear 21 Year Old Me

Thursday Thoughts-Dear 21 Year Old Me.png

It doesn’t seem very long ago that I was celebrating my twenty-first birthday! It was one of the best birthday parties I’ve ever had! A small bar filled with people who were there just for me. I was a lucky gal! When I think back to when I was 21, in 2011, it kind of makes me cringe. There was so much I didn’t know…so much I wish I would have known. This is a letter to myself almost six years later. Enjoy!

Dear (21 Year Old) Danica,

Well, you’ve finally made it! The big 2-1! It doesn’t seem very long ago that I was standing in your shoes (I’m guessing a pair of patent black flats), but just know you will change immensely. Girl, you need to slow it down. Yeah, it’s fun to go out with your friends and drink so much you blackout, but when you wake up two weeks from today and you can’t stop puking…and you can barely move…you will look back and hate yourself for being so crazy. You can slow down; you aren’t going to miss out on anything.

Now that that’s out of the way, you need to know that you are awesome. You never take life too seriously and you are determined to stay young at heart! Well, guess what? That never goes away, so congrats! You are brave and confident, but you need to learn to be patient and don’t let your emotions rule you. It’s not the end of the world if someone gives you a dirty look…you’ll be fine. I know you are desperate for everyone to like you right now, but guess what? Some people aren’t going to like you…and that’s OKAY! You will have some of the best memories this year, but don’t spend too much time trying to re-live the memories. MAKE NEW ONES.

You NEED to stop comparing yourself to other people. It will break you. You’re going to struggle this year because you feel unaccomplished. You will spend more time lying on the floor of your room crying than you ever will in your life (so far). You are enough. You will get through this and it will all be worth it! Stop trying to force your ambitions…your calling will come in due time. The sooner you realize that you don’t need to “keep up” with the people around you, the better.

Please stop worrying so much about how you look. It’s all a mistake anyways. Five years from now you will look back and think “why are my eyebrows so thin”?! and “why am I wearing that ghastly black eye shadow”?! You don’t have to be super thin with perfect makeup…you’re adorable…own it!

And finally, THAT guy is not the answer. I’m actually kind of disgusted that you thought that you loved him, but i’m not writing to criticize you. Even though I desperately want to. (*cough*he’sanawfulperson*cough*) I know you think he might be the one that will make everything better, he’s not. It may feel like being alone is the worst thing in the world right now, but you aren’t alone! Open your eyes! You are surrounded by family and friends that love you. Get it together. You will feel heartbroken at first, but the pain will be worth it once you meet Brandon…which is in about 7 months…be prepared to fall completely in love like you’ve never known. And enjoy the wild heart-pounding ride!

Above all, stay true to yourself. You are unique, fun, and unforgettable. Knowing that about yourself will help you along the way!

Love,

26 (almost 27) Year Old Danica

signature

Author: Revitalized Reading by Danica

Working in a public library for three years has introduced me to some of the most interesting books and book related ideas! I am a creator, dreamer, and lover of all literature and i'm here to share my bookish ways with you!

4 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Dear 21 Year Old Me”

Leave a Reply

